“Weekly” model chalenge #3

The third prompt was “wooden”. This time I really wanted to do something that reflects me, and so I based the model on a little sketch from my sketchbook and painted the textures myself. By this point, this is no longer a “weekly” challenge xP since I can’t seem to deliver one model every week (too much time working on uni assignments, I believe) but anyway I’ll keep following the prompts from Sketchfab’s 3December on a regular basis.

The sketch:

A cute wooden house on a tree and a few bushes.

While modelling it, I struggled with indecison – should I make the objects flat and planar like the way I drew them or round, 3D-shapes from all sides and perspectives? In the end, I decided to go for the first option both to keep it simple and to stay true to the original aesthethic.

The model, no textures:

For the textures, I just painted a few watercolour shapes on another skecthbook:

The UV mapping (messy but hey it turned out ok!):

Aaand final result:

I’m actually quite proud of how this one turned out (^.^). It’s more like a 3D illustration than a “proper” 3D model, but that’s probably why I like it. It’s definitely related to my old illustration style. And I’m definitely going to use my own textures more in the future (I mean look at those bushes! :3).

Leave a comment